Appalachian State Mountaineers Logo

Appalachian State Mountaineers LogoAppalachian State Mountaineers Logo PNG

The letter A, often used as an emblem for athletic communities, has become a staple of the Appalachian State University athletic department’s identity. Forming the Appalachian State Mountaineers logo, it symbolizes belonging to the region, paying tribute to the first visualization.

Appalachian State Mountaineers: Brand overview

Founded: 1970
Boone, North Carolina, U.S.
Appalachian State Mountaineers is the sports division of Appalachian State University, founded in 1899 in Boone, Watauga County, North Carolina. The department consists of several teams, the most famous of which are football and basketball. The head of the department is Doug Gillin. The mascot is Victory Yosef (it first appeared in 1942 in the edition of “Rhododendron”). The athletes are members of NCAA Division I and FBS (Sun Belt).

Meaning and History

Appalachian State Mountaineers Logo History

Evolution of the Appalachian State Mountaineers Logo

In 1970, the logo of the university teams had one letter – a large “A.” It denotes the word “Appalachian.” The message is in the upper case with a serifed font. It has a yellow and black edging that makes it look hollow. Inside is a triangle forming the bar and the inscription “Mountaineers,” which is as if made by hand.

Since 2004, the university mascot Yosef has been on the sport’s emblem. His head is on an improvised long beard, placed on the word combination “Appalachian Mountaineers.” The official colors of the teams are the same.

In 2014, a new logo appeared – in fact, an updated version of 1970. The designers changed the yellow and black colors, visually brightening the symbolism. This makes the letter look much bigger.

What is Appalachian State Mountaineers?

Appalachian State Mountaineers is an athletic department that is part of the Appalachian State University structure, located in Boone, North Carolina. Its representatives are members of several important associations: Sun Belt, MAC, and NCAA, where they play in Division I. Overall, the university program includes 17 student teams.

1970 – 2003

Appalachian State Mountaineers Logo 1970-2003

2004 – 2013

Appalachian State Mountaineers Logo 2004-2013

2014 – today

Appalachian State Mountaineers Logo 2014-Present

Appalachian State Mountaineers Football

Appalachian State Mountaineers emblem

The men’s football team spent its first season in 1928. It won three consecutive national championships in 2005, 2006 and 2007. Since 2014 it competes in Football Bowl Subdivision and Sun Belt Conference. She plays home games at the Kidd Brewer Stadium, which is named after her first coach. Shawn Clark now heads the athletes.

Appalachian State Mountaineers Basketball

Appalachian State Mountaineers symbol

The men’s basketball team participated in the NCAA tournament in 1979 and 2000. In 2007 it joined the National Invitation Tournament. The women’s basketball team won the Southern Conference in the 1996 and 2011 seasons. Angel Elderkin coached it. The coach of the men’s basketball team is Jim Fox (since 2019).

Font and Colors

Appalachian State Mountaineers color codes

Tangerine Yellow Hex color: #ffcc00
RGB: 255 204 0
CMYK: 0 20 100 0
Pantone: PMS 7549 C
Black Hex color: #000000
RGB: 0 0 0
CMYK: 0 0 0 100
Pantone: PMS Process Black C